Compton Crook Award Winner - Splinter in the Sky by Kemi Ashing-Giwa

The Compton Crook Award is presented to the best of each year’s English language first novel by an author in the field of science fiction, fantasy, or horror by the members of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society at our annual science fiction convention, Balticon, the Maryland Regional Science Fiction Convention. Awards have been presented since 1983. The award is also known as the Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award.

The list of eligible books is published in the monthly newsletter so all club members will have a chance to read and vote. The winning author is invited to Balticon (BSFS pays transportation and lodging) for two years, and presented with the cash award of $1,000 and an award plaque.

Compton Crook, who wrote under the name of Stephen Tall, was a long-time Baltimore resident, Towson State University professor, and science fiction author. He died in 1981.

The winner for 2024 is Kemi Ashing-Giwa for the novel Splinter in the Sky.

Kemi Ashing-Giwa studied organismic & evolutionary biology and astrophysics at Harvard, and is now pursuing a PhD in the Earth & Planetary Sciences department at Stanford. She has a novella, “This World Is Not Yours” scheduled for September 2024 from Tor Nightfire and a novel, The King Must Die scheduled for 2025 from Saga Press.

Kemi will be attending Balticon 58 in person.

Find out more about the author on her website.

Photo credit: Kemi Ashing-Giwa


2024 Compton Crook Award Finalists

  • Deathwind: War of the Harbingers Book 1 by Brad Pawlowski

  • How to Be Remembered by Michael Thompson

  • These Burning Stars by Bethany Jacobs

Scroll to Top